Pride Month 2019

This tiny part of the world I was born into was not made for me

I don’t even want to make it be a place for me

Since I am too much for it

All I want to do is run to where there is already a world wanting me

Accepting me, embracing me and celebrating me

A place where my spot already is, and I don’t have to create it

A world where I don’t have to fight for the right to exist

A world where I don’t have to argue, defend and advocate for my own voice

A world that believes the spirit of the divine already lives within me

And honors me for all of who I beautifully am

Rejecting the mandated cookie cutter role I was given to instead live a true life

Requires literally all the will and strength and power I have, each day

Meanwhile almost everything I touch turns to fire

Whether others get scorched by the flames or just keep themselves warm

My hands burn and I slowly waste away in the coals

Embers eating me away to ash

But at least there’s light

From the sparks

Is it for everyone else to see by and enjoy?

Or is the glow mine to possess and behold?