a prayer of honesty

I pray for a heart of compassion

I pray for eyes to see myself as you do

I pray for a mind aligned with love and truth

I pray for knowledge of the worth I have as image-bearer

 

I hunger for belonging

I crave a home of safety

I long for what you made me for

I thirst for how you designed me to live

 

I exist when you extend my life

I rest when you give me peace to sit

I fight when you give me strength to rise

I sigh when you dwell with me amidst fear

 

I can only wait with the days I still have

I can only wander with the time I have left

I can only feel with a heart tired from overuse

I can only reach with an already exhausted mind

 

If you listen, be near

If you hear me, stay with me

If you want me, keep me from the courtroom I face inside

If you remember me, show up and show me the way forward