Broken

You are convinced I am broken. I’m not. I know it in my heart. I’m not broken because God calls me His child. You calling me broken does not make me any more broken than we all are. We’re actually all already broken because we’re human. You declaring I’m broken is just covering up the fact that you’re broken and you know it.  You’re just trying to hide it and ignore it. It’s not something you can change. You’re just running from it. I’m not anymore. We can acknowledge it. And accept it. We don’t have to be afraid.

I am not broken in desperate need of rebuilding. I’m already whole. I’m not a problem to be solved. I don’t need to be fixed. I’m a soul that wants to be known and loved. Don’t treat me like an issue that needs a solution. I see right through you. I know exactly what you’re trying to do. Don’t treat me like a mistake that needs correction.

Why do you break me so that I have to put myself back together again? Why am I guilty until proven innocent to you? Why am I dirty in your eyes? Explaining to you why I’m not these things is always an uphill battle I just don’t have the strength for. I can’t bear the burdens I put on myself, let alone the ones you put on me that you are never willing to carry. The burdens swamp around me and begin to get inside of me. They wrap around my heart and start to constrict its beating. Then they reach around my lungs and keep me from breathing. But when I get exhausted from carrying them, I cut it all off and burn it with the small strength I have left. I don’t deserve to carry it all.  I was meant to be free. I was made to fly.